Writer’s Block Moved In

If you’ve followed this blog or read some of my posts, you’ve probably gathered that I don’t usually have writer’s block.

That doesn’t mean that what I write is stellar, but it does mean that USUALLY I have something to write about.

But now, nothing.

My Creative MoJo right now…

8 days into NaNo and I have 750 words of a story that I am not going to use because none of it rings true for me, too contrived, too forced.

I know all the self-help/cheerleading talk – don’t edit while you write, get the words on the paper, the most important thing is to start…

But, if I’m cringing while I’m typing, that’s not going to cut it.

So, as I was saying, I’ve got nothing.

To put it into perspective, Day 8 of NaNo should mean my total word count at this point is right around 13,300. Did I mention I have 0 words for a story?

It’s not even the lack of words in my word count that bothers me. It’s that I have nothing to say…

Cue the crickets.

I could write a sequel to Nelson and Cora (which I am supposed to do anyway – it is book one of a TRILOGY, for goodness sake). I could write a book from Ethan’s point of view after he leaves Hefner Falls (sorry for the spoiler if you haven’t made it that far in Josephine). But, I don’t feel inspired to write either of those right now.

And, that brings up another issue – inspiration?! I should be writing out of discipline, a habit. I show up, make the attempt, eventually the muse/inspiration/divine intervention comes and picks up my slack.

Jeez, what a downer of a post!

I’m struggling guys, big time.

photo credit: Ozyman via photopin cc
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950 Get Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey http://bit.ly/WaCdbw
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Writer’s Block Moved In

  1. Missy Frye says:

    I think it comes with the territory of being a writer. We all have those days, weeks where inspiration takes a vacation. I know I do. It will pass.

    I never participate in NaNo because the pressure saps my creativity. That’s just me.

    • Hi Missy,
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)
      I know it does pass, but when you are in the midst of it, it doesn’t seem like it will!
      The added pressure is usually what helps me find success with NaNo. I (normally) need that additional push to make me get going and stay going.
      I am just in a funk right now.
      Grumble, grumble, grumble…

  2. Roger says:

    Don’t struggle. Just let your fingers do the talking. Mine often do and it’s usually rubbish, but not all of it and the nuggets are stored in a directory for future use.

  3. I have had writers block in the past ans that’s why it took me so long to develope such great story that I am writing now. And by the way I am going into the second book on barbarian spiders. What I did was prayed sincerly and I meditated and focused hard on my characters and the things going on around me everyday.

  4. You seem to have plenty to write about this… write a story about a writer with writers block. Maybe by the time your character has a story, you will too.

  5. Hey, you know I was about to suggest the same thing. Maybe do a series of stories on the patch quilt book. As to one of your characters on a chilly winter’s morning in early november preparing to write a story for a magazine that published quilt stories and could not because of a writer’s block and so instead they end up having a couple of close friends over and had a patch quilt club with lots of hot chocolate and cupcakes and tea cakes, etc.

  6. Although, everyone main goal in Nano is to finish 50,000 words my other goal is to create a habit for writing so every month could be Nano for me. I mean if Stephen King can write everyday, why can’t I, right. It hasn’t worked that way for me because, some times I just don’t have anything to say. But it doesn’t last long. I am starting to accepted it as part of my writing process.

    • Hi Sydneyaaliyah,
      I look at Stephen King’s example in On Writing all the time, and then think about how I don’t do that!!!
      I think you nailed it though when you said it is part of the writing process. I know the ideas will come, the stories are there. I just have to tap into them.
      Maybe I’m just being creatively lazy!

  7. Maybe it didn’t quite make sense to you what I was referring to in my paragraph. I am meaning that you could follow up on one of your triologies and blend the patch quilt story into it. The characters can discuss their having problems writing as they sit around drinking and eating. Or, just write a creepy story about a owner of a quilt store who conns his customers once they come into his store to have a nice and warm cup of mocho coffee and he has created all types and a brownie or cupcake and he has poisioned it, he holds them there chatting long enough for the poison to sink into their system and they don’t die but they go through hell and he tortures them and makes them tell him there deepest and darkest secrets. It’s terrible and the only way they escape is when the sheriff happens to walks in and becomes supiscious and acts quick. Sheriff outsmarts the villian and shoots him. The end.

    • Hi Andrea,
      I love the idea of weaving stories together and ideas together (no pun intended with the quilts). I have written book one of the trilogy, so book two could involve a quilt, and since I have been working with quilting stories for the last eight months, I should have some things to draw from for that.
      I especially like “creepy” stories. Maybe I need to re-read some Poe to get some inspiration :)

  8. Writing is not an ordinary job. It’s not as simple as sit butt in chair and ‘whip out’ a few thousand words a day. If it were that easy we’d all be whipping out bestsellers right? I know that for me forcing myself to write never works. Demanding a certain number of words a day makes writing about as fun as pumping out ‘widgets’ in a factory. It’s about the story, after all, not the numbers. I bet that if you stop trying so hard your thoughts will naturally drift back to your story and you’ll hear a bit of dialogue or envision a scene that you want to explore and the excitement will come back. I know the popular advice is to keep writing even when it’s crap, but sometimes even imagination needs a rest.

  9. Pingback: I've Lost My Blogging Mojo - Five's A Fellowship

  10. Pingback: Is Writer’s Block a lack of internal permission to write? | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

Leave a Reply

