Suspending Disbelief

I have a hard time suspending my disbelief when I am reading.
It’s not the subject matter. In fact, I CAN suspend my disbelief when I am reading about vampires (Anne Rice’s tales are wildly entertaining), and I CAN suspend my disbelief when I am reading about young wizards (yes, yes, I am a Harry Potter fan too), and I CAN suspend my disbelief when I read about a young woman dying instantly after having the most freedom for an hour of her life (Kate Chopin’s The Story of an Hour), and I CAN suspend my disbelief when I read about hobbits (Tolkien). I CAN suspend my disbelief when I read these stories because I believe in the emotions and reactions of the characters. I believe that their reactions are sincere (the most sincere pumpkin patch… Linus!) and therefore I can relate to these characters, however extraordinary their situation and circumstances may be. If I understand the character’s actions, thoughts, feelings, beliefs, I can walk down the path of the story with the writer as far as he or she will take me, through fantastical lands, through magical worlds, through unusual circumstances because I am able to relate to the character. The character is what makes it real to me as a reader.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

