For my dad

Three years ago today my father passed away from colon cancer.
He was sick for five years.
Some things that stand out three years later…
I miss talking to him on the phone, not about life shattering, Earth moving topics, but about sports and about the weather and about work. I miss analyzing the games on t.v. with him. My dad played basketball for Southeastern Oklahoma University. And, he was good. In fact, he still has records there that have not been broken. Yep, my dad did that.
He coached for the majority of his adult life.
My dad knew basketball. He probably forgot more than most coaches know. He could pick a game apart, tell you what went wrong, what was right, and how the players could fix it.
Some of my earliest memories of my dad were of us on the couch watching basketball games and “talking ball”.
My dad watched almost all sports on t.v. He watched football as much as he could, but he never missed basketball.
My husband, on the other hand, only likes to watch basketball during the playoffs. He is an avid sports fan too, but he just never has been able to get into watching basketball.
The weekend before my dad passed away, while he was in the hospital, I was with him. We were talking sports, as usual. In fact, he kept the t.v. on so he could watch baseball and horse racing and basketball playoffs. It was the Celtics and Lakers that year. Boston won the series 4 to 2. Why does this matter? Well, my dad was drafted by the Celtics in 1963.
My husband called and after I got off the phone, my dad asked who my husband was pulling for in the playoffs. (The right answer for my dad was Boston) I said that he didn’t really keep up with basketball because he said it was boring, same thing all game long – dribble down the court, shoot the ball, dribble back down the court, other team shoots the ball. My husband said this all the time.
A few minutes later there was a Nascar update on t.v. My husband follows Nascar.
My dad looked at the screen, looked at me, smiled and said “Basketball’s boring, huh? Same thing all game long? But he watches Nascar? You know what’s going to happen every lap – keep driving and turn left four times.” Then, he laughed.

I miss my dad.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For my dad

  1. Asma says:

    aww…I’m so sorry. I know its very hard to be separated especially when its the people who are so close to you. We all have to die some day but still its so painful. My dad too was diagnosed with adenocarcinoma (colon cancer) in 2006…He got operated at the end of 2009.Now he is much better Allhamdulillah 🙂 Just don’t loose heart. He will always be with you whenever you’re watching basketball and will always be cheering for Boston along with you:)

  2. DM says:

    This is a wonderful tribute to your dad.

Leave a Reply

