Putting it in print…

I’ve been working on compiling some of my short stories into a paperback format through CreateSpace. This has given me the opportunity to revise some of these stories, knock the dirt off of some short stories I had written previously and put away, and do some editing. Creating the formatting was easy, and designing the cover – front and back – was fairly simple.
I zipped through the formatting process and now my proof copy will arrive on Thursday for my review.
I would be lying if I said that I was not excited. I am thrilled to see it.
But, I was equally thrilled to see the cover that was designed by Heidi Sutherlin for my eBook – Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey
There is something incredibly inspiring and motivating about the start – brainstorming, planning out the events, getting to know your characters, seeing where the story takes you, and I get the same inspiration and motivation from the end – seeing the completed project.
The feeling I get from starting and from completing a book is enough to carry me through the outlining, the drafting, the proofreading, the editing, the revising. And, thank goodness. If the satisfaction was not so great, it would be easy to get bogged down in the middle and give up.
So, when you see your published books on Kindle, or Smashwords, or you hold your paperback in your hand, revel in it, draw from it, and build on it. Keep writing!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Putting it in print…

  1. DM says:

    Excellent advice. I can’t wait to see my first book completed.

Leave a Reply

