Interviews and what I’ve learned

I try not to post duplicate information on this blog and Southern Sugar Baby but I will post this there as well.

This week, an interview that I did for our local newspaper, The Daingerfield Bee. The editor, Marlene Bohr, responded to an email I sent with the press release for the debut of my first novel, Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey. She emailed me back and then did a phone interview and asked about the writing and publication process. While we were on the phone, she asked some questions that indicated she had read this blog. When I read the article in this week’s newspaper, I was PLEASANTLY surprised to find how thoroughly she had researched my writing process from reading this blog. She took quotes directly from the phone interview and several directly from this blog. I certainly appreciated the opportunity to talk about my debut novel, and the opportunity for my words to speak for themselves about my writing and my writing process.

Today, the interview that I did for David Wisehart’s blog Kindle Author was posted. For this interview, I was emailed several questions that were thought provoking and asked me to reflect on my writing process and my journey as a writer. I was given time to think through the questions and respond via email. Again, the questions allowed me an opportunity to talk about writing and my works and what motivated me to publish on Amazon for Kindle.

A few things I wanted to stress:
The press release I sent to several newspapers resulted in one interview. But, it did get me an interview, so NEW WRITERS – write your own press releases and make them polished and professional. Instead of blasting them all over the place, send them to a few targeted markets. And, be nice. If one of your local newspapers agrees to interview you or publish your news release, BE APPRECIATIVE. They are professionals and they are allowing you, a fellow professional writer, to talk about your work in a public arena. I’m not being preachy, just offering a reminder that good manners are still very important.

If you do an online interview, be prepared to put some genuine thought into your responses. The internet, as we know, has a very LONG memory. You always want to send out a polished, professional image, and this would be especially true when your words are visible by people all over the world and for an extremely long time.

Respond to requests. David Wisehart sent out a request on Twitter (@DavidWisehart) asksing for Kindle authors who would be interested in interviews. I responded a few months ago to the request and the interview was done this week.

As all of you who are going the indie, self-pub, small publisher route know, as the writer, you are also wearing the marketing hat. YOU have to work to get your name out there, but it does NOT have to be a painful experience.

Thanks for reading!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interviews and what I’ve learned

  1. jperrykelly says:

    Thank you for this advice. It’s generous of you to share your experience and thoughts. Best of luck with “Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey” and beyond!
    Congratulations!
    J. Perry Kelly

  2. DM says:

    Good information to know.

Leave a Reply

