One of many – eBook publishing advantages – Revisions

Since writing, editing, revising, editing and revising again Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey, I’ve decided to pull it from Amazon’s shelf and complete a thorough revision. The story line will stay the same, but there are changes in the craft of writing that I need to complete.
I’ve learned so much in all these years of writing, reading, editing and critiquing that I want to put forth the most polished version of my story that I can – which, in my mind, is a different version than what I had published previously.
So, what to do? I have taken Josephine off the market through Amazon while I am doing some intense revision/editing. Time is certainly of the essence, but I want to do this as completely and competently as possible.
If I had ONLY published in paperback, I would not be able to do this without a major headache. Fortunately, pulling, revising, and re-publishing is a great advantage of eBook publishing.
I am excited to be engaging in this part of the process.
Writing and making a living as a writer is certainly a PROCESS. I am learning as I go.
But, there are so many excellent resources for me to learn from and that help me hone my craft as I go.

J.A. Konrath’s “A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing”
Brenda Ueland’s “If You Want to Write”
Anne Lamott’s “Bird by Bird”
Natalie Goldberg’s “Writing Down the Bones”
and, of course, Stephen King’s “On Writing”

So, when I get finished with the act of revising, Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey will be out and about again.
In the mean time, you can still find my short stories on Amazon –
Assumption Bridge

Skinny Minnie

Also on Amazon –
A Student’s Guide to Composition: Help, Tips, and Common Guidelines with BONUS MATERIAL – How to Write a Great First Draft of an Essay
A Practical Guide to Academic Writing – Timed Essays
And, The Female Community Found in American Literature Created Between the Wars, 1914-1945

And, on Smashwords – a free short story “When I Met Crazy in the Morning – Mae’s Tale”

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One of many – eBook publishing advantages – Revisions

  1. jennifer starks says:

    I’m intimidated by the whole publishing process. I’m not what you’d call uber educated one way or the other, but I will be. Hopefully, I’ll know great people like you who are willing go help.

    • I would highly recommend J.A. Konrath’s blog A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing. You can buy the eBook, but all of the information is available for free on his blog. He’s run the gamut from being published and doing 1000s of book signings – yes, really, 1000s – and being doubtful of the eBook industry to becoming an advocate of the eBook. He gives real advice from his real experience. It has really helped me, at least with getting some perspective on the process.
      http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/
      Definitely worth a look.

  2. DM says:

    I agree that it is one of the best reasons for e-publishing.

Leave a Reply

