#Sample Sunday – Excerpt from Sugar’s Pills

An excerpt from my short story “Sugar’s Pills” that won the Moonlit Door Contest:

 

Dr. Leslie would understand when I explained that I had lost
Sugar’s Ketamine pills. When I took Sugar in last week, Dr. Leslie and I
laughed about how absent minded I was getting. I couldn’t find my glasses, even
though they were pushed up on my forehead. And, Sugar, well, she would be fine
as long as I took her back to the vet’s office tomorrow for a refill.

I keep dabbing my cheeks and chin, but the sweat keeps
coming. My stomach is churning, but I continue to move my food around on my
plate. When I checked the menu for the luncheon, I knew the fates had aligned
to give me the opportunity I needed. I had been so angry with Agnes and Daniel
when I found out. Damn them and their smiles and hugs and gentle pats on the
forearm. They think I don’t know. They think I can’t see them and what they are
doing behind my back. Even now, Daniel can’t keep his eyes off of Agnes. And, I
see that she is wearing her new gray skirt, the one she just bought at the
close out sale at Price Mart. She doesn’t think I remember. I can feel him
looking at her.

They think they are being so clever, sitting across from
each other, a part. But, I see what they’ve done. Every time she turns to sip
her coffee, her and her damn sipping, they make eye contact. And, all through
dinner, they looked at each other. I’m no fool. I see it. I saw you looking at
each other over your cranberry sauce and dinner rolls.

Read the short story in its entirety here on Lisamarie Lamb’s Blog.

And, you can find more of my works on Amazon

and on Smashwords.

Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey will be released during October!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Sample Sunday – Excerpt from Sugar’s Pills

  1. DM says:

    You are such a good writer. Wonderful piece.

Leave a Reply

