NaNoWriMo – if you don’t know, you should!

NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month – #NaNoWriMo on Twitter

What is it? A commitment to write 50,000 words on a NEW work from Nov. 1-Nov.30. If you meet the word count requirement (50k) by midnight on Nov.30, you win.

I am doing it this year – first time, so I am a newbie.

A few resources I am using to help me get prepared:

The NaNoWriMo site, of course, where I will be keeping track of the all important word count.

Storyfix site by Larry Brooks for tips and hints and advice.

And, Erica Wing’s blog – Crapfiction – for all sorts of posts on people’s experiences with NaNoWriMo.

You can find my first pre-NaNoWriMo guest post on Erica’s blog here, NaNoWriMo Newbie.

Here’s hoping I survive and thrive in the NaNoWriMo environment!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNoWriMo – if you don’t know, you should!

  1. eritta says:

    Ooo! A Newbie! Good luck – I’m so excited for Nanowrimo this year and I love all the buzz going around wordpress. It’s like all my good friends are gathering in one place! Just remember: if you feel like what you’re writing is crap because you’re going too fast, you’re doing it right!

  2. DM says:

    I’ve heard this is excellent to help stimulate your creativity. I just hate being confined in any way or I would try it.

Leave a Reply

