Cue the Europe song… The Final Countdown

Approximately 19 hours…

NaNoWriMo begins.

I am a NaNoWriMo Newbie. I’ve been fortunate to find some incredibly supportive fellow writers who are engaging in this endeavor or who are rooting from the sidelines, and for that, I am supremely thankful.

My worksheets are complete. This worksheet business is new for me. I’ve tried creating a schedule for NaNoWriMo writing. I KNOW I won’t be able to write every day on the new novel. So, I’ve estimated 20 days in November that I will dedicate myself to working on the new NaNoWriMo novel (I do have a title – that’s a step in the right direction?!) Cora and Nelson: The Journey.

20 days of writing to make 50,000 words. 2500 words per day for 20 days.

I am putting a lot of stock in what happens tomorrow – if I get more than 2500 words, I will consider it a supreme success, a good omen of things to come for NaNoWriMo (I have stopped referring to it as November and have replaced the name of the month with NaNoWriMo – people have started looking at me like I am even crazier than they first suspected. I’m fine with it.) If, however, horror of horrors, I don’t make 2500 words tomorrow, doom and gloom, harbinger of inadequacy. So, really, no pressure…

If nothing else, this preparation period in October (pre-NaNoWriMo is just too much to say) has shown me how much room for improvement I have in the area of discipline in my writing. Hint: LOTS of room. How many times have I read and heard from established writers that the only way to be a successful writer is to …(wait for it)… WRITE and to write on a regular, frequent basis.

So, here’s a little Europe for you, a little Final Countdown to take over your brains, and personally, I’m saying a little prayer of thankfulness (that other thing that happens in NaNoWriMo – Thanksgiving) that this is not the look for our rockers any more.

http://www.vevo.com/watch/europe/the-final-countdown/USSM20401982

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cue the Europe song… The Final Countdown

  1. maxdbear says:

    You have some determination. Good for you.

Leave a Reply

