Over halfway… and I’m surviving #NaNoWriMo

I am 19 days into my first attempt with NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.

The good news is that I am ahead of the designated schedule. One of the things I love about the NaNoWriMo website is the beautiful blue line. I am enamored with this line. It tracks your progress. And, there’s a fabulous graph that shows how many words you’ve written and where you should be in order to stay on track to finish — WIN — by Nov. 30th.

I have found that writing with this discipline, a set goal each day, really spurs me on to write. Turns out, discipline works well for me. Who knew?!

The worksheets, remember those? All those worksheets that I diligently completed before starting? As much as I hate to eat crow, they worked. They ARE working. I am not following them completely, but it is so amazing to be able to read through them and get my bearings. They have been great road maps to keep me going, moving forward. That’s a wonderful thing.

The bad news? My activity on Social Media (Twitter and Facebook) has dropped off SIGNIFICANTLY. I haven’t even been checking on my sales through Amazon and Smashwords. I  managed to get off 2 guest posts for Erica Wing’s blog:Crapfiction: one pre-NaNoWriMo and one for the midway mark. I’ll post a link to the 2nd one when it is live.

I’m supposed to be creating a blog post for Jordyn Redwood’s medical blog – Redwood’s Medical Edge – a side note – this is a GREAT blog. I just can’t say enough good things about it. What a great idea/concept! And, I have the bones of what I want to write for the guest post, but have yet to flesh it out. Why? Because NaNoWriMo consumes all my writing time.

This is the first time I have dedicated any significant amount of time to writing that hasn’t involved banging out at least a few words on my WIP – Cora and Nelson: The Beginning. And, I am feeling, right now as I am working on this, like I should be working on my manuscript.

That’s a great thing, but it’s also an all consuming thing. Part of me wishes that I could write with such dedication and discipline throughout the year. Or maybe half the year and then spend the other half editing, revising, polishing, brainstorming, and marketing for the stories that get created during the six months of actual hard core writing.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over halfway… and I’m surviving #NaNoWriMo

  1. DM says:

    I think tracking myself would make me obsessive about checking it constantly. Kudos to you for being ahead with the writing.

    • I will admit I update my word count obsessively, but it is when I would normally check email or twitter. The visual representation of where I am and what I am aiming for is proving to be amazingly motivational.

Leave a Reply

