Blogs in Review – Inspiration in 2011

I didn’t do a “greatest of” list for 2011, but I did want to share some blogs that I have found to be inspiring for me as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, over the past year and explain why.

There are two blogs that I read on an almost daily basis:

Jeff Goins Writer

and

Jane Friedman

Why?

I’ll start with the blog by Jeff Goins. Simply put, his writing helps me. He has a high number of guest posts, and they are helpful too. But, his posts give me information I can use, motivation, and insight. Plus, he blogs almost daily, but the entries are never overwhelming. His writing style keeps me engaged and informed. Pop on over to his blog and read some of his latest posts and see if you agree: Great Art is Transcendent and Want to be a Better Writer? Get a Peer Editor. Find him on Twitter @jeffgoins

Next is Jane Friedman. Her blog is my “go to” site for all things publishing. Her advice and tips are solid, informative, and full of insight from someone who has made her living in this business. She’s been there, done that, and now passes along all the wisdom to people like me who are thirsty for knowledge in this field of publishing, writing and editing. She also has numerous guest posts and links to various other blogs. But, her posts are the ones I read carefully and thoroughly. I don’t want to miss anything! Try her post My Best Advice for Writers from 2011 and see. You WILL learn something. Follow her on Twitter @JaneFriedman

Also in connection with Jane Friedman’s blog, every week there’s a guest post from Porter Anderson – Writing on the Ether. Always full of insight (and just the right amount of snark!) on the publishing industry, especially e-Books, I love his posts. Witty? Yes. Gives me the nitty-gritty on what’s happening in the world of publishing, absolutely. Want more from Mr. Anderson, find him on Twitter @Porter_Anderson

Are you keeping count? That’s two blogs and three bloggers so far. Two more blogs/bloggers to go!

Next is Lori McNee and her blog – Fine Art Tips. Hmmm… I’m not a painter or sculptor or photographer (want to see something by a great photographer? Go here to Kara Stewart’s online gallery) So, how would an artist’s blog help me? Lori McNee’s blog is about merging CREATIVITY (I have a little of that) and business tips (I need some more of that!). The information she gives helps you whether you express your art with a canvas or a blank page. Check out her post Small Business Resolutions Worth Keeping for some of the business info and her post Waiting for the Muse: 4 Tips for the Procrastinating Artist for the creativity side. Find Lori McNee on Twitter @lorimcneeartist

Rounding out my list is Elizabeth S. Craig and her blog Mystery Writing is Murder. I appreciate that she shares what works and what doesn’t and then gives practical advice on how to get where you need to go in writing. Want an example? Read her post Eliminating Echoes in Our Writing. And, she always tweets excellent information and links to writing advice: @elizabethscraig

So, four new blogs and five news bloggers for you to read… get to it!

But, two things before you go:

1) Please share a blog or two in the comments section that has been inspirational/motivational for you during the past year!

2) Mark your calendars for Jan. 20 and then head over to Robyn Leatherman’s blog – TheOneAMPen to catch the interview she’s doing with me. You can find Robyn on Twitter and find out more about her upcoming author interviews too @robynleatherman

As always, thanks for reading!

 

 

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogs in Review – Inspiration in 2011

  1. markhstevens says:

    Solid links and it’s easy to tell your supportive friends out there are clear, calm thinkers. Great collection. Thanks. Mark

    • Mark,
      Thanks for reading. I’ve been reading these blogs – especially Jeff Goins and Jane Friedman for the past year. I’ve been reading Lori McNee and Elizabeth S. Craig for about six months or so. I’ve learned a great deal from all four blogs.

  2. kara says:

    Thanks for including me, Melinda! I’m honored!

  3. DM says:

    I’ve never heard of any of these. More blogs to look at! Thanks!

  4. Thanks so much for the mention, Melinda. 🙂 I appreciate it!
    There are so many blogs I enjoy, it’s hard to pick! You mentioned some excellent ones. I do always catch Janice Hardy’s blog: http://blog.janicehardy.com/ , Beyond the Margins: http://beyondthemargins.com/ and Juliette Wade’s: http://talktoyouniverse.blogspot.com/ .

  5. Elizabeth,
    Thank you for reading and commenting! And, thanks for giving me more blogs to learn from.

Leave a Reply

