Romantics are dead – long live romantics

Valentine’s Day, we meet again, my old friend…

Sometimes it is easier to figure out something by looking at what it is not. If you look at the antonyms for romantic, here’s what you get – practical, realistic, probable. That about sums it up, doesn’t it – the opposite of being a practical and realistic person is being a romantic, and my dear romantics, February is all about you – this is your month to shine, you impractical, unrealistic souls!

In honor of Romantics everywhere, here’s a brief and incomplete list of some of my favorite Romantics, lovers, and wooers in literature, film, and history:

 

  • Narcissus and Echo – surprised? Why? The concept of loving and not being loved in return is most certainly in the realm of the romantic.

 

  • Doc Holliday and Big Nose Kate – on again, off again, on again, off again – she set fire to a town to break him out of jail – that’s got to count for something!

 

 

  • Rick and Ilsa – Casablanca – I shouldn’t even have to put the title… but I did.

And, the rest of the old standbys – Helen and Paris, Anthony and Cleopatra, Elizabeth and Darcy (Pride and Prejudice), Cathy and Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights).

What about some pop culture romantics? How about Danny and Sandy from Grease? Jack and Rose in Titanic? Wesley and Buttercup in the Princess Bride?

And, I intentionally left out Romeo and Juliet. Don’t worry, their story will be told next week.

Did I miss one of your favorites? Who do you think belongs in the realm of the romantics?

If you don’t know the history behind Valentine’s Day, you can find out all about it on History.com.

photo credit: chicks57 via photopin cc

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Romantics are dead – long live romantics

  1. Jane Bussey says:

    Loved your list, off to look up Doc Holliday and Big Nose Kate now. I always had reservations about Guinevere and Lancelot. I love the love story, but I always sympathized so with Arthur.

    • Jane,
      Thanks for reading. For me I just never took to the story of Arthur and Guinevere. I always wanted her to end up with Lancelot. Instead -the convent. But the story of the three certainly has stood the test of time!

  2. Roger Lawrence says:

    Love and romance is for girls. However I always thought that Captain Picard and Counsellor Troy should have got together. If you don’t know who I mean then GOTO my first sentence.

  3. DM says:

    How sweet! I loved this post. Love is in the air. wonderful choices. I can’t think of one other to add.

Leave a Reply

