Don’t Do These 5 Things When You Use Twitter

I’m not a Twitter expert. I don’t have a gazillion followers.

But, here are some things that I’ve noticed from people who are successful at using this form of Social Media and some of the characteristics and habits of people I avoid on Twitter:

  1. Don’t SPAM me

Please! If you are trying to sell me something with EVERY single Tweet, I feel the same way I do when I get spam in my inbox.

2.  Don’t pass along links that you haven’t followed –

This is strange territory since Triberr is in the mix now. But, what I’m noticing is that people I follow are posting more links from their Tribe members that I am almost positive they haven’t checked.

Unfortunately, I am getting a little leary of the “via @someone” line in tweets. Check the info BEFORE you pass it along to your followers! If they don’t trust you, they won’t follow you. Or, at the minimum, they won’t click on any of your links!

NOTE: If used the right way, I am a fan of Triberr.

 

3.  Don’t be a ROBOT –

Lots of people use automated tweets, which can be a good thing. But, if all your doing is pre-programming your tweets, you aren’t engaging in conversations. The conversation part is crucial! No convo = no follow.

4. Don’t be afraid to dive in to a conversation –

If people wanted to have a private conversation, they would choose a different venue or use DM (direct message!) instead of posting it on Twitter. Do some hashtag searches (#southernfiction, for example) and if someone is posting something you want to talk about, then reply to them and get with the conversation.

5. Don’t ignore people –

Closely linked to #4. If someone mentions you, respond to them (UNLESS its the dreaded spam from a spam-bot!!). Thank them for the mention, or better yet, thank them by linking to something they’ve written or giving information to your followers as to why they would/should follow that person. NOTE: the more generic the mention, the less effective it is.

 

And, a BONUS “DO” for Twitter –

When you mention people and include REAL content about them, that’s always a good thing.

And, of course, you can follow me on Twitter: @melindamcguire 

 Giveaway on Goodreads until March 31 – signed paperback copy of Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey

photo credit: Matt Hamm via photopin cc
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Do These 5 Things When You Use Twitter

  1. DM says:

    Excellent advise about twitter. I know longer follow everyone who follows me. Quite a few are just selling their product.

  2. Such common sense stuff, yet it needs to be said. Thanks for another good post!

  3. Roger says:

    Don’t know what an automated tweet is, but I wouldn’t use one for the sole reason that automation usually means loss of control.

  4. Pingback: 5 Things I’ve Learned from Book Two | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

