I Keep My Muse in My Sock Drawer

How Did You Think of That?

I recently was given the opportunity to write a guest post for Jean BookNerd’s blog about the inspiration behind Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey.

I wish that I had a magical answer to give when people ask that – I’d like to say that a beautiful, evanesecent, mysterious creation appeared when I sat down to brainstorm – but it wouldn’t be called brainstorming, it would be called something more exotic, like “channeling the muse”. And, then this amazing, fickle, tempermental muse dances around me, chanting and sprinkling ephemeral muse dust on my head and hands.

But… that’s not how it works for me at all.

How it works for me:

Answering the Great “What If”

Sometimes it starts as a whisper of an idea, a quick observation that floats by. Other times, it’s two incongruent thoughts, two random ideas that don’t seem to go together, but then, you think “what if” those ideas collided.

WHAT IF there was a young woman during the Great Depression who had been raised poor in the rural countryside and went through the motions to meet expectations of what “decent” people should do

And, then …

Visit Jean’s blog if you want to find out more about the inspiration behind Josephine.

What’s your writing process? How do you come up with the ideas for your blog posts, poems, novels, photographs? I’d love to know in the comments.

Just a note: To celebrate the release of Nelson and Cora – The Beginning, both Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey AND Nelson and Cora – The Beginning are 99 cents on Amazon for Kindle right now.

 

photo credit: Lynn (Gracie's mom) via photopin cc
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Keep My Muse in My Sock Drawer

  1. ahamin says:

    When it comes to writing… my ideas come to me when i start collecting data about a place i want to set my story in or about an event too… and then within time, my subconscious connects the dots… best ideas came to me while listening to music too… a good score always helps in imagining your ideas like a movie, making you go through the emotions…

    • Ahamin,
      Welcome and thanks for commenting 🙂
      I think music must be something I’m supposed to tap into. I’ve had several conversations lately about listening to musical scores for inspiration, especially for specific scenes.

      • ahamin says:

        Music is important… imagining is not enough, you have to go through the emotions and the feelings of the moment of the scene… music stimulate your senses… all the best 🙂

  2. DM Yates says:

    My process is similar to yours. I’ll be doing something or just resting and an idea will come to me, and then it just turns into a story.

  3. Roger says:

    Ideas usually come to me when there’s absolutely no chance of writing them down. I have no idea how many (potentially) good stories or novels I’ve forgotten about. That’s why I keep a tape recorder that my darling daughter keep recording over. The Little princesss.

    • Roger,
      Have you heard of Evernote? I use it ALL the time for exactly the reasons you mentioned. It’s much easier to type the info on my phone or computer and save it in Evernote than trying to tote around spiral notebooks! And, there is no way a tape recorder would make it in my house 🙂

  4. Nice post… but also, super-duper sized THANKS

    • Well, that was silly. My post was cut in half. Here’s the sequel, and spine tingling conclusion:

      As I was saying… THANKS for the intro to Evernote. I downloaded it into the phone and computer. It’s a great program. I appreciate you mentioning it!

  5. Pingback: Writing prompt: Pick an object « Write on the World

Leave a Reply

