What is it about me and William Faulkner?

I first met William Faulkner through his short story, Barn Burning. I was amazed at the instant recognition I had with the Snopes family. I was drawn in at the same time I was repulsed, both by the words on the paper as well as the experiences I had with people like Abner Snopes.

And, then, sweet, twisted, pathetic, creepy Emily and her necrophilia. Hmmm… I was hooked. What else did this man have to tell me, this William Faulkner? I wanted to know.

I was blessed to have an English teacher who trusted me enough to assign me texts that were outside of our textbook, and assign them she did. My reading list included Light in August (whoa, how’s that for out of the ordinary?!), The Sound and the Fury, and As I Lay Dying, along with his collected short stories.

And, these carried me for many years. I didn’t find Faulkner again until graduate school. And, I will happily admit, the Faulkner class I took was my all time favorite course. It was here that I found Absalom, Absalom!

I read it and read it and read it. It was just amazing to me that he created these living, breathing, loving, sinning, crazy characters.

If you want to find out more about the characteristics in Faulkner’s writing that I love, you can find them here in an interview I was asked to do by Rhonda Dennis on her blog Green Bayou Novels.

Who’s your favorite southern fiction writer? A modern writer? A classic? Tell me in the comments. I’d love to find out (and add to my TBR list!)

 

 

photo credit: joseph a via photo pin cc

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What is it about me and William Faulkner?

  1. I’d have to say Larry McMurtry is my favorite living Southern writer. Does Texas count?

    • Hi Charlene,
      Does Texas count?! Absolutely 🙂
      Thanks for reading and commenting.
      I am a fan of McMurtry’s too. Rhino Ranch is on my TBR list to finish out The Last Picture Show series.
      Which book(s) of his is your favorite?

  2. I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite, but I am a girl reporter, so it’s no surprise that I liked Telegraph Days a lot. It is a fun summer read.

  3. sallykwitt says:

    It is wonderful to be out of the ordinary. How great that you had a teacher that encouraged you!

    • Hi Sally,
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂
      I was incredibly blessed by this teacher. She pushed and prodded and helped me grow as a person. She’s a dear friend of mine now.

  4. zencherry says:

    I love Faulkner but Harper Lee has my southern vote. 😉

  5. DM Yates says:

    Who’s my favorite southern fiction writer? Now that’s a silly question. You are, my friend.

Leave a Reply

