Research, research, everywhere…

JuNoWriMo is only a few weeks away – starts June 1!

Like NaNoWriMo – JuNoWriMo is a novel writing month contest, but it is held in JUNE (hence the name!) *You can follow @JuNoWriMo on Twitter for more info and updates.*

Nelson and Cora – The Beginning was a NaNoWriMo novel, so it seems fitting that Nelson and Cora – The Journey (Book 2 in the trilogy) should be a JuNoWriMo novel.

Between now and June 1, I have a LOT of research to do.

Jordyn Redwood, her blog Redwood’s Medical Edge, was incredibly kind and generous in helping me with the medical aspect of my research for this novel – what diseases were prevalent in Kentucky and Texas in 1866-1867, and also the treatments for those diseases. I’m not writing a medical text, but those details matter so much. I’ve said this before, but I don’t mind repeating myself 🙂 – it isn’t unusual to do 20 pages of research for a single sentence reference in a novel. But, it’s worth it. If it is going to be authentic, it’s absolutely worth it.

In addition to the medical aspect, I have to research the traveling situation. This novel is about “the journey”, so I’ve stared researching traveling by wagon from Kentucky to Texas in 1866. It’s amazing the information you can find, and also startling to read about the conditions of travel during that era.

Also, I will incorporate the events of that time into the background of the novel – The Reconstruction, the first cattle drives leave Texas, Jesse and Frank James rob their first bank in Liberty, Missouri. Nebraska enters the Union, and the U.S. purchases Alaska. The U.S. and Comanche, Kiowa, Cheyenne, Arapaho and other southern Plains tribes sign the Medicine Lodge Treaty, so there’s a lot going on in the periphery of Nelson and Cora’s lives.

Plus, I have to get the bones of the story together – character development, story structure, theme, plot.

Better get busy…

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Research, research, everywhere…

  1. Sounds like you’ve got a plan! Good for you. I hope your June is amazing. Can’t wait to join you in JuNoWriMo!

    • Thanks, Becca. So glad you stopped by. I am excited about June. The novel in a month concept seems to work well for me because it gives me a deadline and discipline (both things I need!).

      • I know. I feel the same way. I spent a year and a half writing the first draft for one of my books… On the other hand, I wrote another book start to finish in 25 days during NaNoWriMo. Talk about productivity!

        • I wish I could figure out a way to do a WriMo contest every third month. Then I would have a month to plan, a month to write, a month to edit.
          Can the WriMo people make that happen, please?! ;-p

  2. I just signed up for JuNoWriMo thanks to your post! Thanks for posting about it, I haven’t participated in any of these events yet, so it was great to hear that there will be one next month.

    • Felicia – AWESOME!! So glad you are going to join in 🙂
      I’m excited for you.
      I was pretty nervous (read nervous wreck) when I signed up for NaNoWriMo, but it really seems to work for me.
      Be sure and connect on Twitter with the JuNoWriMo crew @JuNoWriMo and #JuNoWriMo.
      YEA!!!

  3. It’s so awesome that you can make these challenges. I haven’t tried a writing event like this, and right now I’m sure I couldn’t handle it. I’m a slow writer. That’s just my way. My speed is picking up, so eventually I’ll give it a try.

    Best of luck next month!

  4. DM Yates says:

    I love research. I certainly love it more than editing, editing, editing. Hope you find all the info you need.

  5. Pingback: Mayhem in May | melindamcguirewrites

  6. Pingback: 2011 NaNo Character Sketch | Pioneers of the Shattered Waters

Leave a Reply

