Mayhem in May

Summer Begins…

With An Interview

I had the pleasure of appearing on Rhonda Dennis’s blog – Green Bayou Novels – to discuss Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey.

An excerpt from our interview:

For such a naive and simple person, Josephine’s character is incredibly poignant.  What was your inspiration/motivation for this character?

Josephine, I love her, but then I want to just shake some sense into her. I think part of her can be found in all of us – the idea that we know best, that we can make any situation work the way we want. I know quite a few people who are screaming “You aren’t going to get the best of me,” while they are getting schemed and scammed. There’s more to Josephine than meets the eye. I think if you just label her as a “hussy” or say she’s loose morally, you’ve missed it. When I thought of Josephine, Ethan came right along with her. I think the two have to be dealt with together. He brings out that part of her that she doesn’t know exists. It’s scary when we find ourselves in a relationship with someone who brings out the absolute worst in us.

Read the rest of the inteview here.

Nelson and Cora – The Beginning on Goodreads

There’s a giveaway on Goodreads until May 13, 2012, for a signed paperback copy of Nelson and Cora – The Beginning.

Amazon

Price matched my short story When I Met Crazy in the Morning – Mae’s Tale with Barnes and Noble and iBooks, so now it is free for all eReaders. It’s a short story that gives readers another point of view about one of the events in Josephine: Red Dirt and Whiskey and gives readers a chance to get to know a little bit more about Mae.

Short Story – Last 5 Minutes

Finishing the final revisions, edits, and polishing of my contribution to the Grim 5 Next Express Anthology. My piece, as you may have already guessed ;-), is about the last five minutes before the world ends. Not my usual forte, but I am answering my challenge of not thinking outside the box, and trying to put in new experiences instead.

Worksheets, worksheets, and more worksheets

Yep, it’s research, planning, outlining time. Gearing up for JuNoWriMo, and I’m excited. This novel will be book two in the Nelson and Cora trilogy.

How is May going for you? Big plans for summer?

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mayhem in May

  1. zencherry says:

    Love it! The depth of your character makes me want to go grab your book. 🙂 fantastic interview you two.

  2. DMYates says:

    Love it, but esp I love all the writing you’re doing. Again, you are one of my favorite authors.

  3. Just finished “Josephine: Red Dirt & Whiskey” this week. Josephine is truly an interesting character who has a lot to learn about herself and the world around her. We get to see her journey through the pages of this book.

    Now, I’m bopping over to read the rest of the interview! 🙂

Leave a Reply

