Why Is Bildungsroman Haunting Me?

photo credit: an untrained eye via photo pin cc
 
 

Bildungsroman Is Attacking Me

It seems that everywhere  I look, up pops Bildungsroman. I can’t seem to escape it.

For those of you who are wondering what Bildungsroman means, the easy, dictionary definition =

a type of novel concerned with the education, development, and maturing of a young protagonist.  (Dictionary.com)

There’s a literary definition (of course) that is much more drawn out, but a novel that deals with a young person’s formative years will suffice.

I don’t write YA. I don’t have anything against it, that’s just not my area.

And, yet, here is bildungsroman everywhere I look. Articles, blog posts, even in conversations with people (good grief!) there it is, rearing its head – BILDUNGSROMAN…

Do you ever feel attacked by ideas, concepts? If so, do you follow where they lead or just write it off as strange coincidence?

 

*** Click on over to my new project – Southern Creatives – and find out what’s coming up! *** 
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why Is Bildungsroman Haunting Me?

  1. Roger says:

    I’ve tried writing other stuff but YA relentlessly follows me. So I’m sticking with it. Wherever I go my head keeps swatting me with new ideas. Whether they’re any good or not only my sales will tell.

  2. I have to admit that I hadn’t heard of that word before! I’m going to use it now…..somewhere…thanks!!

  3. Bildungsroman, huh? As Nicole said…. gotta use that one someday.

    I think a lot of genres have gone through a boom at times. Y/A has definitely exploded in recent years. I had to laugh when I visited a Barnes&Noble, and found an entire isle filled with nothing but Y/A vampire novels. Of course, I remember when the pickings for teen readers were slim indeed, especially when it came to fantasy/scifi. Will it go back to the way it was? I kind-of hope not. But it might balance out in time, to be replaced by the next “new” thing!

    • First it was teen magicians, then vampires. Who knows what next? I hope I’ll be able to set that course. But first I’ve got to do some marketing. Hardly any point in all this writing without actually telling people that I’m doing it.

      • Roger,
        Do you think there is anything “new under the sun”? Or, do you think these are all just tweaks on old ideas?
        Have you noticed, with your marketing, that your writing is acting as your marketing – once people read one of your novels, do they then buy your others?

        • I’d like to think that my writing is my marketing, but that’s because I’m lazy. And no; there is very little new. Anyone can rework an old concept. Only the good writer can make it both readable and sell-able. I’m hoping to join those ranks one day.

        • I would add something to your list of readable and “sell-able” – make it “feel” new.

    • Laura,
      I just read a post by Seth Godin about people who chase the next big thing – Where’s The Heat. It was thought-provoking, as usual.

    • How about a vampiric, prepubescent wizard with glasses? Hmm, I might be on to something there.

      • LOL Oh, well why not! Remember when Pirates of the Caribbean was big? I had to do a double-take at the local bookstore when I saw the middle grade book, “Vampirates.” Giggled once or twice about that one.

  4. That would have passed me by. I’m the only person who didn’t know the Depster was playing it camp.

  5. Reblogged this on melindamcguirewrites and commented:

    How long do you run away from a new creative endeavor before you decide to give in and try it?

Leave a Reply

