Voice in Your Writing – Part 2 – Pacing

photo credit: Phil McElhinney via photo pin cc

Do your stories move quickly, or do you take your time telling your tales?

That’s your pace.

While you can adjust your pace to fit the action, and you definitely should do that, some of your pacing is going to inherent in your writing voice.

Think of it in terms of conversation:

Do you prefer to cut to the chase, get right to the point? Your stories stay at a rolling boil.

Or, are you more comfortable with a slow simmer?

How you deliver the action in your stories is your pace, and how you pace your writing is part of your Voice.

What’s your preference as a writer/reader for pacing?

 

*** Click on over to my new project – Southern Creatives – and find out what’s new! ***

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Voice in Your Writing – Part 2 – Pacing

  1. Roger says:

    I like to cut to the chase. Some people like to get to know the characters for a while, but I like the action to begin sooner so that the characters’ show themselves immediately.

  2. Pingback: Your Voice in Writing – Part 3 – Sentence Structure | melindamcguirewrites

  3. Pingback: Your Voice in Writing – Part 4 – Tone | melindamcguirewrites

  4. I’m pretty sure that if I wrote the way I speak, my novels would be about 400,000 words long. In writing, I like to get to the story.

    I have no idea how I have missed these “Voice In Your Writing” posts. I just discovered them last night. So, I’m reading them backwards. I know what you’re thinking. That Laura… what a rebel! 🙂

    Anyway, since I can’t seem to count on getting all my emailed posts, I’m gonna scan your blog and see what else I missed! So you’ll probably have several comments from me today.

Leave a Reply

