Fountain or Drain – Which One Are You?

 

The Fountain or the Drain?

 Fountains


photo credit: M.Angel Herrero via photo pin cc

 

Some people make you feel more creative, more productive, excited about your future. These people realize there’s no limit to ideas, so they are free to share them. There’s no quota to projects that will work. If they have a good idea that they think is a fit for you, they share it. When you tell them about a new idea or a new project, these people will offer helpful suggestions, cheer you on, and help you however they can.

These people are fountains. Surround yourself with them. Nurture them, tend to them because they make you better by being in your life.

 

Drains


photo credit: attila acs via photo pin cc
 

You may not know at first glance that someone is a drain, but it only takes a few times of interacting with that person for you to feel it. You’re sapped. Whatever idea you may have, the drains will find something wrong with it, a reason it won’t succeed, a fault that needs to be pointed out.

I’d love to tell you to cut out the drains, remove them from your life, but sometimes that isn’t possible. What IS possible, though, is not playing their game. When they bait you into sharing what’s new or how things are going, don’t bite. Most drains want to focus on themselves anyway, so just keep the conversation focused on them (and as brief as possible!).

Then, find ways to recharge your batteries and get back to the business of being your creative, productive self!

 
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fountain or Drain – Which One Are You?

  1. zencherry says:

    I think you’re anthology is going to ROCK! Don’t you let anyone drain the enthusiasm from ya about it.
    Btw, I am neither. I am a teapot. Short and stout. 😉

    • Hello ZC! I’m glad to see you here 🙂
      I’m excited about the anthology. Lots of awesome, talented people in the mix – always a good thing.
      And, as fond as I am on short and stout teapots, YOU are ALL fountain, all the way!

      • zencherry says:

        Omg. Your not you’re. THIS is what happens when I quit caffeine. 😦 And thanks darlin’ you’re incredibly sweet. xoxo

  2. I love this analogy!!! Although, after thinking about it for a minute, I realized something. Despite the… well, draining personality of a drain, I suppose they play a role too. The world needs a drain or two for balance. Otherwise, we’d all drown in our own exuberance.

    But my advise is to keep your distance. Never get close enough to get sucked under! 🙂

    • Laura,
      What a wonderfully polite way of putting it … our own exuberance!
      There’s definitely a place for people who help us keep reality in sight, but I see drains as being different from that.
      Drains to me are just plain old fun suckers. They’d like to suck up all the good creative mojo and flush down the toilet.

  3. Roger says:

    Most of my friends are like Marvin the Paranoid Android. “Life…don’t talk to me about life.”
    Maybe I should find new people to hang about with.

  4. DM Yates says:

    Nice post. I like the pictures to go with the thoughts. It’s so true too.

  5. I know a lot of the second type, though they tend to disguise themselves as the former by initially encouraging ideas and then just sucking all the joy/energy out of the project once it gets started.

  6. I’d like to say I’m a fountain, but I’m sure I’ve cut down enough people and ideas in my time. Still, I think there’s a redeeming value to that if it is helpful in the end. Saying, this sucks, but has potential not to… sound okay to you?

  7. sallykwitt says:

    Excellent post. We have ups and downs, so maybe we are both at different times. Of course, I have a Bipolar perspective. LOL

    • Hi Sally,
      I’m so glad to see you here!
      Yes, I think we all have our ups and downs (which is why, for me, I have to be careful about spending too much time with “drains” and I have to recharge when I get run down).

  8. Pingback: Creativity and Fear | melindamcguirewrites

  9. Reblogged this on melindamcguirewrites and commented:

    One of my most popular posts on this blog. Wiping away the cobwebs after my year long hiatus …

Leave a Reply

