Happy Birthday, Star Wars … I always wanted to be Darth Vader


photo credit: Arty Smokes (deaf mute) via photo pin cc

May 25, 1977

Congratulations, world. Here’s Star Wars!

I was too little to see the first Star Wars in the movie theater.

However, I did see The Empire Strikes Back when I was four years old at the movie theater in Mineola, Texas.

You may ask yourself how I can remember that.

Good question.

I remember the details because yes, the movie was incredible, life changing, world opening. I mean, hello, it’s Star Wars.

But, I mainly remember it because of Darth Vader. Creepy, scary, asthmatic Darth Vader.

When you’re four, there’s not a whole lot of mystery about why you choose the characters you love. You love the ones that are amazing. And, to me, Darth Vader was AMAZING – Boom! Pow! Kazaam! …. right now I am hearing the music and seeing him in my mind’s eye as he walks down the corridor with his flowing, menancing black cape … cue the breathing …

NO, I AM YOUR FATHER

Check it, people. That’s the actual line.

But, when you’re four, you ad lib.

So, when I went to the bathroom by myself – because I was four and old enough to do that in the small movie theater of Mineola, Texas, while my mom waited in the lobby – and I came out in my frilly dress (old enough to go to the bathroom by myself, but not old enough to pick out my own clothes!) with my washed and dried hands and my ruffly panties on my head and the leg holes over each eye, you can forgive me that I ad libbed my line –

“Luke, I am your father!” breath, breath, breath, arms sticking straight out.

So, anyway, happy birthday Star Wars. Thanks for giving me Darth Vader.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday, Star Wars … I always wanted to be Darth Vader

  1. When I saw Star Wars for the first time I was in the Royal Marines and so annoyed because Mr Vader’s weapons were better than mine. When I enquired of my Sergeant Major if I might be issued a ray gun, he made me do fifty pushups with someone sitting on my back.

  2. zencherry says:

    Ahahaa! Love it! I was in the first grade when the first Star Wars came out. I was convinced that all that space travel would be possible by the time I was grown and had alllll sorts of plans. (Remember, this is fresh on the heels of the moon landing and we all were certain that we’d be beaming up Scotty-style soon enough).

    You crack me up hon. I’ll bet your mom was like…OMG. 😀

  3. I was thrilled to see this post. When I dragged myself out of bed this morning, I had no idea that today was such a milestone. Star Wars is truly epic! And, I’m giving a lot away here, but I DID see the original movie in the theater.
    Oh, and it sounds like you were quite an entertaining child. Hilarious story! If your mom didn’t already know she had a character on her hands, she figured it out that day, huh?

    • Laura,
      I LOVE your new pic! Fabulousness 🙂
      I think my mom knew what was up in the hospital when I was born. She says that the nurse told her that she had better have a lot of patience when she was getting ready to take me home. Supposedly, I was able to throw such a fit I could move the bassinet around the nursery…
      So, you see, story telling is in my genes ;-p

      • Why, thank you! I thought it was a big improvement over the old pic.

        And, I’m picturing this red-faced infant in a pretty pink beanie thrashing around till she topples all the hospital bassinets like a row of dominoes! LOL

Leave a Reply

