I’m suffering a Pantster attack

Pantster Tendencies Attack

Panic is dancing at the edges of my brain…

photo credit: tochis via photo pin cc

June 1st, 2012 – JuNoWriMo kicks off. I’ve been planning to do this for a few months now. By planning, I mean brainstorming, outlining, thinking about character motivation, story arc, setting, key plot points. I’ve been getting the structure and backbone of the story in place because on June 1, I have to log at least 1,667 words per day to reach my goal of 50,000 words in the month of June.

For me, that’s a lot. I was successful in November (NaNoWriMo), but the reason I was successful is due to the planning I did before November 1.

But, here’s the problem –

There’s another story brewing.

Not just an idea of a story. I get those all the time. I write them down, file them away. They aren’t going anywhere, and I can come back to them when I’m ready for them.

This story that’s planted itself firmly in my brain – right now, of all times – is different. This isn’t a seed of a story. It isn’t the makings of a story.

No. It’s a full blown story, ready for me to transcribe.

This is a beautiful, wonderful, organic, amazing creative thing, but NOW, now, four days before JuNoWriMo?

I’m conflicted.

And, I’m throwing balled up gum wrappers at my muse as she flits around laughing at me …. grumble, grumble, grumble

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m suffering a Pantster attack

  1. Sarah says:

    Yeah for Camp Nanowrimo. This will be my first attempt. I know we aren’t supposed to pre-write, but I suggest a short exercise to kick things off. Let the MC for both of the projects write their own “won’t you tell my story” essay. Each character can have 30 minutes to tell you why their story should be written first. It doesn’t really matter what they come up with. But the one that’s easiest to write would be the one I would go with.

  2. I say go with the new one, but then I am a panster all the way 😉

    • Joleene,
      My natural tendencies are to be a pantster, but I have found out that it just makes the revision process so much more difficult and time consuming – kind of a do the grunt work now or do the grunt work later sort of thing. I opt for now (and then a little more later…) But, I have to fight off my pantster tendencies with both fists!

  3. I don’t know what pantster means – it sounds faintly rude. But if you have a story/ novel simply begging to be written, it’s you bounden duty as a novelist to get it done.

  4. mjgriffor says:

    you can always try to slam out a basic outline of the new novel nipping at yoru heals. maybe you will find you arn’t so enamored with it after all…or you minght find its better than you imagined. Good luck

    • Hello mjgriffor. Thanks for stopping by!
      I think I’m going to combine Sarah’s tip and your suggestion for outlining and see what happens. I’ve still got three days — that’s plenty of time… ha, ha, ha.

  5. I just had a full novel slam into me last week.(That’s the best way to describe it… just hit hard and fast.) I spent most of one day writing down everything I could before I lost any details. Afterward, I was able to get back to work on something else. Maybe that will help… if you get it down, maybe the idea will be content to hold on the back burner for a while.

    If not… my prayers are with you! 🙂

    • Laura,
      I appreciate the prayers and I will take them!
      I will see where I stand after a little time outlining and following Sarah’s suggestion (that sounds like fun!), and if it looks like I need to write the new idea, then that’s what I’ll go with. I do feel a bit ill just writing that…

  6. Pingback: Where is this going… | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

