How do YOU define Success?

photo credit: kevinthoule via photo pin cc
 

Success

What is it?

How do you define it?

How do you measure it?

Has your definition of success changed over time?

Just some questions I’m mulling over. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How do YOU define Success?

  1. zencherry says:

    What is it: Self realization. (Knowing that I did my best no matter the accolades/criticisms or outcome of the project that I worked on.)
    How do you define it: Allowing myself to fail without thinking that this is the end result has helped a lot.
    How do you measure it: How many people I’ve made smile. Did I help someone today? Did I challenge myself?
    Has my definition changed over time: Yes. I’ve learned to laugh at and let go of the bad while clinging to the good like it was superglue. This is a daily exercise given that life tends to throw a lot of rotten tomatoes just when you think you’re on top of things.

  2. Last night I watched a 6 year little boy define success – He said everything has to come from the heart and basically the rest doesn’t matter. If your heart tells you that you are successful I would believe it over anything else.

  3. I’ve always had the strange idea that success would mean contentment. I’ve never felt content, ever. I’m not really sure that I would if it ever happened.I can’t think of any other definition.

  4. Jill Brooks says:

    Success to me is to love and to be loved. To help strangers and give more of yourself and your wealth that you can afford to. To be able to successfully live by the Golden Rule. To hold a baby, no matter whose baby, and to feel your chest swell with love. Being important to your loved ones, and work at being worthy. The ability to forgive myself and others for past actions, and start anew every day. And having sparkling earrings and a good lipstick. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Creativity and Fear | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

