I Cannot Serve Three Masters

And, by “masters” I mean stories

Most of you know that I am participating in JuNoWriMo and CampNaNoWriMo this year – yes, that means I am writing two different stories during the month of June.

Along came this third story, and I was torn as to which ones to write. So, I gave each of the three a run, and I figured out, I cannot write three stories at the same time.

I can work on revisions, I can work on editing other people’s work, I can plot another story, I can write a short story or two while I am working on two novels, but I CANNOT write three novels at the same time.

Lesson learned.

Why is it so much easier to read multiple books at the same time? I can juggle five or six or even more of those, but it isn’t the same with writing.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Cannot Serve Three Masters

  1. shivprasad says:

    ya thats true, its easier to read multipe works rather than working on writing on multiple things. Finally its the heart and the soul, thoughts and expression which are more involved in writing..

    Keep writing and blogging .. best of luck..!

  2. Roger says:

    People have always said that women are great multi-taskers. I can barely read one novel at a time. Just don’t ask me to chew and walk at the same time.

Leave a Reply

