Embracing My Inner Ouiser

Shirley MacLaine as Ouiser Boudreaux

I’m not crazy, I’ve just been in a very bad mood for 40 years. – Ouiser Boudreaux, Steel Magnolias

I used to pretend that I was more like Clairee Belcher, full of class and laughter and culture.

But, the truth is I’m more like Ouiser. I tried for years to hide this or deny it, but now I embrace it.

Most women, at least Southern women, that I know fall into one of these two categories. You either have Ouiser tendencies or Clairee tendencies. I know many women who have Clairee tendencies, and they are lovely people. They always know the right thing to say and when to say it. They reach out to others with kindness. They look for ways to productively fill their time and cultivate the positive, lovely things in their lives and in the world.

And, then there’s the Ouisers in the world. I fall squarely into that group.

I pretty much like to be left alone. I don’t like to gossip. I don’t like to be around people who do. I think a whole lot of stuff is a waste of time. I am fiercely loyal, but I see the faults of those I love more clearly than most outsiders do. I will be the first to point out the ridiculousness of a situation. I spent a lot of time trying to be more like Clairee. Not anymore, though. I am embracing my inner Ouiser and running with it. If we didn’t have some grouches, who would the Clairees in the world work to cultivate and improve?

I am pleasant… 🙂 (caution… movie clip contains some “bad” words)

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Growing Up Southern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Embracing My Inner Ouiser

  1. Pingback: Southern Movie Marathon | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

