Memory Snapshot – Skipping Class

Memory Snapshot – Spring, 1995

It’s possible it’s the weather. Spring time. “Saps rising,” as we say around here. It could be the music. I just listened to Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “As I Long As I Can See the Light.” I was on a CCR kick my sophomore year in college. That may be part of it.

I figured out pretty early on which classes I could miss and still pull a decent grade and which classes I had to attend. As luck would have it, my last class of the day on Thursdays during the spring semester was a class that I could skip and still make an A.

So, skip I did. If the sun was even partially shining, I would load up with a few of my pals and we would head off to the local lake. When we started going, the water was still too cold to swim, but that didn’t stop us from kicking off our shoes and splashing our feet in the freezing water.

Whole afternoons were spent at the lake, listening to CCR (on tape!) and talking and laughing.

Time passed so slowly then. Those afternoons stretched out forever. Even now, I think of how much time we had to waste.

And, this isn’t what you want to tell your kids, but I’m glad I wasted it, glad I played hooky while I could, before grown up responsibilites came along and time started moving at warp speed.

I need some more CCR in my life this spring …

photo credit: wolfpix via photo pin cc
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Growing Up Southern and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

