Overcome by a Pantster Attack

My Pantster Tendencies Won — this round

Day 13 of JuNoWriMo/ CampNaNoWriMo (50k words in 30 days), and my innner Pantster won.

I tried three different stories – all three I planned out, mapped, strategized, created character arcs, character profiles, but none of them were working for me (right then).

I’m not scrapping those stories. I have all that work set aside. It’s good, solid ground work.

But, my pantster tendencies won this time.

I went with a story that just started coming to me — out of the blue, you know how it happens.

And, guess what? I am enjoying the heck out of it.

I’m enjoying it so much, I’ve written 11, 412 words in two days.

So, for this round, I’m being a pantster.

photo credit: lisaneale via photo pin cc
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Overcome by a Pantster Attack

  1. My first Nano last year was an “out-of-the-blue” story. All my friends had their character’s clothing sketched out and their entire stories outlined… It was SO much fun sitting down and letting my story evolve each day–no map, no particular destination, just some words in my head and a keyboard.

    • I hope I still feel that way when I am in the revising/editing stage! I am enjoying the process of the first draft, though. 🙂

      • Um…yeah…the editing stage. That’s the only downside to writing without an outline. At some point, you do have to ask yourself, “okay, what are these people doing and where are they going, because it seems we don’t have a map:-) I am now wishing I had sketched their clothing and given them lengthy bios beforehand.

  2. zencherry says:

    Go for it hon! I’m pantser all the way. Now editing? (Raspberries with big blown up cheeks.) Let it flow and leave the pick poke ick for later.

  3. DM Yates says:

    Sometimes, those make the best stories.

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Have I Lost my Mojo? | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

