Banana Split for My Baby, a Glass of Plain Water for Me – My muse looks a lot like Louis Prima these days

What’s a Banana Split got to do with an organized crime story?

photo credit: rizkapb via photo pin cc
 
 

Legend – The Story of the Lotierie Family

We are nearing the end of JuNoWriMo/CampNaNoWriMo. I’m 10k behind on my word count, but I’m a glutton for punishment and an overachiever a multi-tasker, so I think I still have a shot at finishing the 50k on time.

That won’t be the end of the story, but it’s a pretty good chunk of it.

If you’ve been keeping up with my adventures this month, you’ll remember that I tried out three, yes, 3, different stories at the beginning of June. I had spent time planning, outlining, character building for each of the three. But those aren’t the stories I went with.

No, a strange fourth horse emerged in this race, and along with it, my muse appeared, looking and sounding a great deal like Louis Prima.

One great thing about JuNoWriMo/CampNaNoWriMo – I don’t have time to question it!

I’m following where the muse is leading and humming “I Ain’t Got Nobody” every minute it takes until I hit the 50k mark.

I’m following this guy straight to 50,000 words

photo credit: Epiclectic via photo pin cc
 

Has your muse/inspiration come in any unusual forms? I’d love to know in the comments 🙂

 

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Split for My Baby, a Glass of Plain Water for Me – My muse looks a lot like Louis Prima these days

  1. Vicki says:

    My muse was a complete character of her own. Her name was Matilda and she was my secret lover; we had rendevouz and had seperate affairs and she was always a bit homicidal so when we were together, dity, horrible things happened. I pictured her as a femme fatal type figure with blonde hair pinned up in curls and she was the little black glove wearing type. But alas, a friend of mine suggested that Matilda may be unfaithful to me and so I killed her before I found out that my friend was setting me up. So Matilda was dead and I was forced to find a replacement muse in Jalidia who was like an untrained puppy – loud, silly, uncooperative and peed in strange places. I hate her, she never does what I ask of her but there’s nothing that I can do now that my lover is dead. RIP Matilda.

  2. Pingback: 6 Easy Ways to Boost Your Creativity | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a Reply

