My Grandma, The Price is Right and cats in heat

Talking about the facts of life…

Before my grandmother got really sick, she would come and stay with us for a few weeks in the spring, summer and fall. She didn’t travel very far in the winter months.

Anyway, one spring visit happened to follow a few weeks after I had observed my pet cat, Tar Baby, behaving badly strangely. Lo and behold, I find out after a bazillion questions, that Tar Baby is in heat and letting the tomcats in the neighborhood know that she is looking for love.

Back to my grandmother – Grandma always exercised, walked, stretched. And, one of Grandma’s favorite television shows was The Price is Right. I think she had a little crush on Bob Barker.

So, Grandma has The Price is Right on the television in the living room, and she is stretched out on the living room floor doing these exercises to strengthen her hips and back – I did not know that was what it was for at the time.

I walk through, see Grandma doing something very similar to what I had witnessed Tar Baby doing a few weeks earlier, and make an insightful connection. Not wanting to let my brilliance go unnoticed, I ask my grandmother, “Grandma, are you in heat?”

If only we had listened to Bob when he told us to always spay and neuter our pets…

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Growing Up Southern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Grandma, The Price is Right and cats in heat

  1. Now I’m even more confused. What was my daughter doing?
    I’m going to go with exercises. I’ll be able to sleep better that way.

  2. DM Yates says:

    Funny. I hope she laughed.

    • Donna,
      My grandma was awesome. 8 children, widowed with four of them still at home. There wasn’t much she couldn’t handle or that got under her skin. She, that crazy woman, thought I was delightful. I had her fooled :-p

  3. So funny! Loved the punch line!

Leave a Reply

