Southern Creatives – News from the Road – Humble, TX

Book Signing Update – Humble, TX

Have books; will travel!

It has taken me years, YEARS, to be able to discuss any kind of road trip without automatically quoting the lines from Willie Nelson’s song – “On the Road Again” – but, I’m exercising restraint. You should be proud of me.

Half Price Books, Humble, Texas, Book Signing

You know what I love about book signings? Everything.

I love them when people are lined up to get a book. I love them when they aren’t.

I just love being in a place that draws in readers, even if they aren’t “my” readers.

People who read as a hobby = awesome.

The book signing went well.

The staff of the bookstore were nice and helpful and courteous, and Andi Kay Klemm set up the whole thing, and she was fabulous!

The bookstore is a great store. I would have hung out there for hours, even if I wasn’t doing a book signing.

I got to meet some interesting people 🙂

We – Rhonda Dennis and I – gave away a gift basket packed with goodies.

And, I sold a few books.

All in all, nice way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

Confession – even though I’m not quoting the song, I’m still hearing it in my head as I type this. I’ll never break free from the Willie Nelson song!

 
 
About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Southern Creatives, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Southern Creatives – News from the Road – Humble, TX

  1. Reblogged this on Anakalian Whims and commented:
    I’ll post pictures soon!

  2. Roger says:

    The idea of a book signing leaves me cold with terror. What if they all just laughed? You’re braver than me.

  3. Awesome! I will be going with fellow author, Lauren Clark, to Shorter Mansion in Eufaula, AL, (the setting of her novel, Dancing Naked in Dixie) for her book signing this Thursday, August 2nd. I am very excited to have been invited by Lauren. Her novel is wonderful and it is set in my hometown, so I look forward to the visit.

  4. Even though it was only a couple of hours, I really enjoyed spending time with you and Andi. Thank you both for a great day!!!

  5. Barbara says:

    Books, cakes and biscuits a perfect combination. It looks as though you had a lot of fun.

  6. I’m glad your day turned out so well. I haven’t had this book-signing experience yet, but definitely learning some things from you. The drawing and giveaway goodies are such a nice touch. Wish I could have popped in!

Leave a Reply

