William Wordsworth, Rich Fabric and a fellow blogger Sarah Negovetich (@sarahnego)

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”           — William Wordsworth

**********

Rich Fabric, the anthology, launches Friday (9/28/2012).

I have this problem (blessing? issue? disorder?) that strikes whenever I get involved with something – I think I can do anything.

Write a novel – sure, I can do that.

Publish a novel – sure, I’ll give it a whirl.

Write another and another. Build a platform – absolutely (says the person who knew nothing about social media two years ago).

Start a project from scratch to bring together and showcase creative people in the South? Yeah, that will be awesome (Southern Creatives was born).

So, it came as no surprise to those closest to me when I said something along the lines of “Hey, here’s this charity, Twilight Wish Foundation, and they grant wishes to senior citizens. I feel strongly about that. So, what can I do to help?

Hmmm… I think I’ll look at the people I am connected with whose work I enjoy and admire and, let’s see, what can we do … Ah, yes – an anthology. That will be great.”

And that’s how Rich Fabric came to life.

If I ever start listening to people who say “you don’t know anything about that” or the critics or that little voice in my head that says “this is dumb – you don’t know what you are doing,” then I’ll be done. The wheels will come to a grinding halt.

But for now, the wheels are spinning.

**********

A wonderful post by a fellow blogger

Sarah Negovetich, who is a contributor to Rich Fabric, wrote a touching, wonderful post on her blog Sarah Nego Writes this week.

Why We Write

We write because we love books and the beautiful words that fill them. We write
because stories are magical and they help us to feel the world in a way that
would otherwise be impossible without a time machine and oodles of cash. We
write because we have stories in our heads that demand to be told.

I write for all of those reasons, and for the same reason I ran home from my first
day of kindergarten to show off the gold star Mrs. Green stuck to the top of my
worksheet. Because there are people in my life I want to make proud.”

Read more of Sarah’s post here: Why We Write

**********

Back to Wordsworth

So, while I am not as eloquent as Wordsworth, I believe what he says is the only way to do it.

 

 

 

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to William Wordsworth, Rich Fabric and a fellow blogger Sarah Negovetich (@sarahnego)

  1. Elena Dillon says:

    Melinda,
    I can totally relate. When an idea presents itself or someone says “Do you think we could do…(insert ridiculously time consuming idea here)” I always just say “Sure, let’s do it!” And then realize I am going to have to do the bulk of the work! Good to know I am not alone! Happy Tuesday!

  2. You are too sweet. I have loved being a part of this anthology and knowing that it can help to make a seniors dream come true is a pure bonus.

  3. I love that comment from Wordsworth. And I agree that stories are magical. As for taking on too many projects, I think I have that disease too.

  4. A.R.West says:

    Your just gathering steam. Come honest to the page and take nothing back. I love the books Mrs.Mcguire.

  5. Pingback: Moving through the doubts « Far Away In The Sunshine

  6. Pingback: The Breathings Of My Heart - Everyday Gyaan

  7. Pingback: The Breathings Of My Heart - Write Tribe

Leave a Reply

