Johnny Carson and Heart – an exploration of my (goofy) childhood

It’s an interesting week in the Pop Culture realm.

Heart and Johnny Carson and me

Heart and my childhood

photo credit: dogwelder via photopin cc

Heart released their biography “Kicking and Dreaming: A Story of Heart, Soul and Rock & Roll” and they have a new album: Fanatic. That’s album number 14!
How much did I love Heart growing up?

Nancy and Ann Wilson – Heart – singer and guitar player.

But, not just any singer and not just any guitar player. No. An amazing, rock and roll, kick booty singer and guitar player, who happened to be female.

YES!!!

I loved Heart. I loved Ann and Nancy Wilson. I wanted to be them. But not really two separate people. I wanted to meld them into one person and be that person.

This may explain why I spent countless hours playing air guitar and lip synching in front of the mirror in my bedroom. Or running around outside acting like I had a guitar strapped on my hip.

“Now won’t you … BARRACUDA”

POW!

I was a master air guitar player and not a bad lip syncher, thank you very much.

“Crazy on you, I’m gonna go crazy, crazy on you…”

BAM!

So my days were spent channeling Ann and Nancy Wilson and thinking of my future as a one person “Heart.”

My nights?

photo credit: Fire Monkey Fish via photopin cc
 
 

Here’s Johnny…

This week was Johnny Carson’s 50th anniversary for the Tonight Show.

I went to bed almost every week night watching Johnny Carson.

I loved Carnac the Magnificent and the animals and the band and Doc Severinsen and Ed McMahon and all the guests (most of whom I didn’t even know).

I looked forward to Johnny Carson. He was funny and likable and dependable. Every week night before I went to bed, there he was.

**********

Heart during the day. Johnny Carson at night.

My childhood in a nutshell.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Growing Up Southern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Johnny Carson and Heart – an exploration of my (goofy) childhood

  1. I love watching the wendy willaims show and my all time favorite is gone with the wind. I love the strong character scarlett ohara plays and the ending and the sequel to it and how she becomes a mature woman.

  2. tonyarice says:

    I just love this post!! Funny, I was just talking about taking guitar lessons. I’ve been living vicariously through the MC in my novel who idolizes Jimi Hendrix and plays the guitar in a band. Nancy Wilson is indeed the coolest! (Think I’ve gotta play “Crazy” now.) Yesterday I’d seen some clips from Johnny Carson’s show online and tweeted them. My God, how I miss that man. I have not watched The Tonight Show since that sad night he said “Good night”. I can so relate to your childhood… sounds normal to me!!!

  3. Love your post, give me Heart and Carson any day!!!

    • Marilou, thanks for stopping by 🙂
      I didn’t realize how much those things influenced me, but the older I get the more references I make to the music, television, films, and books of my youth – I hope they weren’t all junk! ;-p

  4. How fun. I have similar memories but for the Beatles and American Bandstand… sigh… those were the days… 🙂

  5. I loved Johnny Carson and also watched him every night. He was a genius of comedy.

  6. Bo Lumpkin says:

    I can remember the Tonight Show when Jack Paar was hosting it. Johnny was always my favorite though. As for Heart…sorry…that was after my time. 🙂 I am with Susan Cooper on that…I do remember the Beatles better. (and even before)

    • melindamcguirewrites says:

      Johnny was special, wasn’t he. I don’t feel the same affection for the hosts these days. It isn’t that I don’t think they are just fine – but they aren’t Johnny!

Leave a Reply

