Frankly, my dear … My favorite Rhett Butler quotes

I’ve been thinking about Ethan and Josephine, and how much I love a rogue of a man in literature, and of course, my thoughts turned to Rhett Butler, and how he set the bar.

So, in honor of my most loved Southern “rogue” gentleman in literature, here are a few of my favorite quotes from Mr. Rhett Butler

  • With enough courage, you can do without a reputation.
  • No, I don’t think I will kiss you, although you need kissing, badly. That’s what’s wrong with you. You should be kissed and often, and by someone who knows how.
  • You still think you’re the cutest trick in shoe leather.
  • Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

I could quote the novel, since I think all of his dialogue is wonderful, but I’ll stop here.

Gone with the Wind, 75th Anniversary Edition

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frankly, my dear … My favorite Rhett Butler quotes

  1. Roger says:

    I’ve never seen this film. But then I’ve seen few of the real classics. maybe I should broaden my horizons and stop watching Star Trek.

  2. Hello,
    Gone With The Wind is my favorite movie and I love to hear scarlett ohara talk and she’s so strong and throughout the movie she reminds me of what I am at times a stubborn and strong headed business woman! Another one of rhett butler lines!

  3. Pingback: Wind « Gone but Not Forgotten

Leave a Reply

