NaNoWriMo – Have I Lost my Mojo?

NaNo starts November 1.

I completed (I won!) NaNo last November. If you aren’t familiar with NaNo, “winning” means that I completed 50k words in the month of November of 2011. That manuscript later became Nelson and Cora: The Beginning.

Then, I completed JuNoWriMo – same concept, but in June.

And, then …

Nothing.

I haven’t even looked at the draft I wrote in June. That’s four months that 50k words have just been sitting there.

What have I been doing? Well, I have managed to edit and publish Rich Fabric, which is amazing and wonderful and has been such a great experience and the profits all go to the Twilight Wish Foundation. And, I’m proud to share that when the first royalty payment comes in, a donation will be made for over $100.

But, that’s not a new novel, and that’s not a completed manuscript, and that’s not a lot of other things.

NaNo starts the day after tomorrow.

I have NOTHING. No story brewing, no notes that can spark an idea.

I have a blank page.

But, I’m giving it a whirl and we’ll see what happens. Yep, that means I’m back to my pantster tendencies.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to NaNoWriMo – Have I Lost my Mojo?

  1. Juli Hoffman says:

    I’m not sure if I’ll even be NaNo-ing this year. The sane part of me says, “You don’t have the time.” And yet…there’s a part of me that enjoys the competition. Sigh……. 😉

  2. I’m participating this year (as I didn’t last year because I was busy with edits for when Castaway Hearts was released in April of this year).

    This time around, I’m hoping to put a finish on my 2nd series of books, the Pryce of Love Series. If you need an ear or someone to chat with, you have my email addy and I can be found on nano’s site as scribbling butterfly. I already found and added you as a buddy on there.

    It can certainly be very overwhelming to start writing again when you’ve gone through a dry spell, I know. This will be the first story I’ve actually started writing since my 2010 NaNo, so I’m scared to death I’ve forgotten how to do this. LOL That seems so long ago since inspiration has touched me, so I kind of understand where you’re coming from. I’ve worked on other novels I’ve completed since then, doing edits, etc, and I did finish that novel from the previous NaNo, but starting fresh and getting back into it is filling me with trepidation as well. I worry that if I haven’t written anything in so long, what if I come to stand before my novel and meet a brick wall instead.

    You can do this!

  3. Les Kerr says:

    A blank page is where it all starts!

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Why on God’s Earth am I Doing This Again? | J. Keller Ford ~ YA Fantasy Author

  5. Pingback: A Look Back On NaNoWriMo: Before, During, And After… | The Nightmare Never Ends

  6. Pingback: Bombing My NaNo! BOOM! « Kimber Vale

Leave a Reply

