Winding Down and Looking Forward

A recap –

I published my second novel – Nelson and Cora: The Beginning and my first anthology – Rich Fabric.

What did I learn?
In the hopes that someone will take something of value from my experiences, I will be as transparent as I can be here –

I pulled my punches with Nelson and Cora- The Beginning. I did. I like the story. I like the characters, but where I would have gone in with a sledge hammer with Josephine, I shied away from it in Nelson and Cora. I spend so much time explaining to people that Josephine is not for the faint of heart, that it’s a dark, Southern Gothic tale, that there’s profanity and drinking and smoking and hypocrisy and sexual immorality and all sorts of things going on. I guess I just thought it might be easier to promote a book that wasn’t that bold. But, I think I’ve shortchanged Nelson and Cora by doing that.

I do like them. I do think the rest of their stories – parts 2 and 3 – will be engaging and challenging and more true to my voice as a storyteller. But, I treated part 1 with antiseptic spray.

Rich Fabric? I LOVE working with others, reading their writing, crafting the pieces to fit together as a whole. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am thoroughly enjoying it with the eBook, just wishing I was better at the technical aspects so that would move along faster. But, it’s getting there. And, the non-profit part, all of the profit going to the Twilight Wish Foundation? I am enjoying that part too 🙂

But, working as the editor for Rich Fabric takes me away from writing.

I have another story still sitting in a drawer, waiting for me. I completed the first draft in June and haven’t looked at it yet. I hope that my memory isn’t fooling me because I think I like the story, like the protagonist, like the antagonist in the “ooh, you’re evil” sort of way. I  am picking it back up in January. We’ll see how it goes from there.

I started the Southern Creatives project on this blog. My goals? I really wanted to shine a spotlight on people who were creative types in the South or creating art about the South. I have had the privilege of meeting/connecting with many folks through Southern Creatives.   I don’t know if this is something I will continue in 2013 or not, honestly. I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure where I want it to go from here.

And, I’ve traveled to quite a few places to promote my novels and the anthology. Some of it has been great, some not so great, but it has all been learning experiences, and for that, I am truly grateful.

I have some projects that I want to get rolling in 2013 – some that will take me in new directions, some that will move me further down the same paths.

I hope you have an amazing holiday season and that I’ll see you in 2013.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Southern Creatives, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winding Down and Looking Forward

  1. I wish you much success with your work and I like the fact that you are getting into the dramatic, wicked character thing, because that’s what the reading audience wants now-a-days. Oh, don’t gorget the beautiful monsters attitude in a character.

Leave a Reply

