I will never be a musician

Ignore the facts that I cannot sing and have no musical talent whatsoever –

Besides those things (those pesky little things!), I will never be a musician because …

I couldn’t get back on the bus after the show.

After all that energy, all that emotion, collectively, all that shared experience, you put up your gear, don your coat, and climb back on the bus to drive through the night to the next show.

I don’t think I could do that …

What brought this about? I saw Trans Siberian Orchestra’s The Lost Christmas Eve.

TSO - The Lost Christmas Eve, 2012

TSO – The Lost Christmas Eve, 2012

And, after the Rock Opera, of course they played Christmas Eve Sarajevo. I am ashamed to say that my words can’t do it justice.

If it was me, after producing that, creating that, playing that, I couldn’t go get back on the bus, but I am so thankful they did, at least the night before!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I will never be a musician

  1. Roger says:

    nary one of the people in the approximately 10000 songs on my daughter’s iphone can sing either. That doesn’t stop the from doing it – alas.

    • I think I could totally stink it up, but if I could do it well and experience the energy and catharsis something like that concert must give to the musicians and singers (let alone what Paul O’Neill must experience), I don’t know that I would ever do anything else!!

      • Roger says:

        I went to a concert once, in the last century, with Elton John and Kiki Dee in Hyde park. It was awful. I like both singers on studio pressings but I hated live performances. Never did it again.

  2. LOL. As an unknown musician, I could talk about the lack of talent on the airwaves for days, but fear not, I won’t. Seems talent and showmanship are often diametrically opposed. Thanks for the great audio, Melinda. I love “Christmas Eve Sarajevo” and the orchestra’s arrangement of “Pachelbel’s Canon.” Have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting =)
      Christmas Eve Sarajevo is my absolute favorite, but I like so many of their songs. And, I wasn’t old enough to get in on the first round of rock opera (Pink Floyd, The Who), but I like the layout of it. There was a narrator who talked directly to us, then the singers, the musicians, the effects – the FIRE!! It was incredible.

  3. You WILL see it again, or one of their other shows – totally mesmerizing. I have seen this one twice and Beethoven’s Last Night once. If you like pyrotechnics, you should also try to see The Phantom of the Opera on stage. I’m not a big fan of pyrotechnics only because of the danger factor, but I love the effect. It’s one of those love/hate relationships. In both of these cases though, the effect adds to the show and the show makes the pyros worth enduring 🙂

Leave a Reply

