Create – Why do you do it?

Why do you create?

Why do you create?

photo credit: e-magic via photopin cc
 

Are you a writer? A poet? An artist? Photographer? Musician? Artist? Sculptor?

Why? Why do you create the art that you do?

Some people say they “have to” create. Why? What happens to you when you don’t? Do you dry up, like Langston Hughes’ Dream Deferred?

Some people say they can’t stop it, that they create no matter what. Why? What would happen if the switch was flipped to “off”?

Do you create art because you have something to say? Does it matter if no one wants to hear it? If no one is interested? We have so much static today, so much spam, so much irrelevance in the constant bombardment of “always on”, “always in touch” – why do you create if no one hears you, sees you?

Why do you create?

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Create – Why do you do it?

  1. Missy Frye says:

    Creating makes me feel good. Focusing on a creative project triggers something inside me and it’s very satisfying. It would be great if others saw my work and liked it, but it’s the creation itself that keeps me going.

  2. I’m enamored with stories that make me think, and with which I can identify is some way. I suppose I write stories with the same thought in mind. I write stories of women on a journey of self-discovery. Characters women can relate to, and with whom they can identify. I want readers to walk away feeling like they were entertained and thinking about some aspect of their own journey in life.

  3. Roger says:

    I feel a need to create. If only to remove myself from this sometimes troubling world. Even if nobody ever read it, I would still write.

  4. Les Kerr says:

    I create when I have something to say. Sometimes, it’s for others and sometimes just for me.

  5. afracooking says:

    Creating is about living life to the fullest – not just as a by-stander.

  6. Pingback: The Good Word: A Dream Deferred » THE GOOD WORD

Leave a Reply

