I can do “busy” like nobody’s business – or how procrastination is winning

Just stand there and look busy

Procrastination – you evil thing. You are winning the battle right now.

A confession: I can fill my days and nights with all sorts of busy-ness. And, it isn’t worthless stuff. Everything is necessary – laundry, housekeeping, cooking, grocery shopping, work (you know, for a paycheck), paying bills, cleaning out closets, and on and on and on.

And, I can always use that busy-ness as an excuse to keep me from my creative endeavors. The stronger the creative ideas that part of me wants to pursue, the stronger my drive becomes to do some time-consuming task that keeps me from creating (like bleaching out the garage floor, let’s say).

There seems to be a direct relationship between my guilt (yep, I said it) of taking time away from these tasks to create. That horrible, nagging voice in my head tells me that pursuing a creative life, creative endeavors is a waste of time when I could and “should” be taking care of all of these “adult” responsibilities that I need to do.

How dare I waste time on brainstorming or researching or writing when I have recipes to organize and laundry to fold?! Adults don’t do that sort of thing…

So, I’ve learned to be “busy” because if I’m not “busy,” then I’m wasting time.

I like to think that I don’t really believe this. But, actions speak louder than words. And, my actions say I do believe it, and whole-heartedly at that.

So, here I sit, thinking about outlining a book idea but seriously considering sweeping and mopping and putting away the laundry.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I can do “busy” like nobody’s business – or how procrastination is winning

  1. I was going to write a blog just like this one but never got around to it.

  2. Laura Hedgecock says:

    Fear of laundry is what drives me to the laptop. I can procrastinate that until the cows come home (or underwear runs out, whichever comes first.)
    Good post .

    Laura Hedgecock
    http://www.TreasureChestOfMemories.com
    http://www.Twitter.com/LauraLHedgecock

Leave a Reply

