Tofu is breaking this southern girl’s heart

Chicken fried chicken, it isn't.

Chicken fried chicken, it isn’t.

photo credit: arimoore via photopin cc

Tofu!?

I don’t really understand how all this happened.

I mentioned to a few people that I really needed to have more energy. When I hit the afternoon, I bottomed out – big time. Not cat nap time, this was more like a bear’s hibernation. And, the coffee wasn’t working anymore.

“Oh, you’ve got three kids, you home school, you work from home, remodeling, own your own business… yada yada yada… You’re just going to be tired.”

But then, someone said “Have you tried cutting out the gluten in your diet?”

Ummm… my diet that consists of homemade biscuits and gravy? My diet that includes chips and salsa? My diet of chicken fried chicken and mashed potatoes?

Gluten free? Heresy!

“Try it. You just have to buy a few different groceries, no supplements or anything. See if you feel any better,” the heretic said.

So, Ezekiel bread (much better than I anticipated), feta cheese, walnuts, lean beef, chicken, salads, almonds, pinto beans, asparagus and I have gotten much better acquainted.

It’s been one week.

I’m surviving.

I even tried tofu – not a fan. But, I tried it.

I’m learning a lot about my food addictions and cravings.

Most importantly – more energy, LOTS more energy, no slumps in the afternoons, and no tummy aches after eating meals.

Foods coated in flour and deep fried make up a lot of my memories, but I think it is time to make some new ones 🙂

 

 

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Growing Up Southern and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tofu is breaking this southern girl’s heart

  1. Steph Post says:

    Hang in there! I’m a vegetarian, gluten-free Southerner. Be patient, try new things and think outside the box in the kitchen. Good luck!

    • Patience is not my strongest point! I am trying (TRYING!!!) to step outside of my comfort zone, but I will confess it is a struggle. It was pretty difficult to pick up a bag of Sweet Potato Chips instead of regular ol’ greasy ones! But, just like in writing, I am a work in progress (always).

  2. Juli Hoffman says:

    The only way I can eat tofu is to “hide” it! I used to make lasagna with half ricotta cheese and half tofu mixed together REALLY well. Once you added your other cheeses, spices, and sauce, you couldn’t taste the tofu. Not at ALL!!! There are gluten free noodles out there, but in some areas, they’re hard to find.

    Quinoa is yummy AND gluten free. It’s supposed to be the most nutritious of all the grains. It does have as odd name, but it’s SUPER easy to fix and tastes a little like rice or couscous. I usually buy Bob’s Red Mill brand. I buy a LOT of their stuff AND Bob’s has a BUNCH of gluten free options, including BISCUIT MIX!!! Ha!!!

    See? You CAN have your biscuits and be gluten free, too!!!
    Here’s their link: http://www.bobsredmill.com/

    They’ve got a BUNCH of gluten free recipes on there as well. Hope this helps a little. I live about a half hour away from Detroit, Michigan. Soul food and Southern food are practically cousins! I LOVE fried chicken with biscuits and gravy!!!

    • Juli Hoffman says:

      Oh! And I’ve learned to fry with grapeseed oil. It’s a hair better for you, health-wise, than olive oil, but it can take high temps and has no flavor. We ONLY use grapeseed or olive oil around my house. Here’s a link about that:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grape_seed_oil

      I’m ALL for trying NEW things, but I also like to be able to prepare my favorite meals in a healthy way.

    • Oh Juli,
      You made my heart smile with the idea of gluten free biscuits and gravy!
      I do have some gluten free noodles (not lasagna, but I am looking forward to trying that), but no Quinoa. I like rice and couscous, so maybe that will be a good fit.
      Thank you (many times over) for the link to Bob’s! And, thank you for giving me some hope for the state of my relationship with southern food 🙂

  3. Limit fried foods? I hear you loud and clear! But then it’s better than the surgeon helping your gallbladder wave bye-bye 🙂

    • Hi Mary,
      My gallbladder is already long gone!
      I can’t believe how much better I feel, just in a week’s time. If it wasn’t working immediately, I wouldn’t be doing it – no patience!

Leave a Reply

