How #Junowrimo reminds me that I am NOT writing

Mired down

It’s June – JuNoWriMo once again.
Last June I wrote the draft of my first organized crime novel – Lotierie: Legend.

This June – I could write a sequel. I could write the second novel in the Nelson and Cora trilogy. I could write Ethan’s story from Josephine.

Nope. Nothing.

So, if you want to know how to avoid writing, here are some things that I have learned that ARE NOT writing:

– reading blogs
– looking at Pinterest
– thinking about writing
– reading books
– watching movies
– listening to music

All great writing-related tasks (at least possibly) but NOT WRITING.

Here’s to putting rears in seats and fingers to keyboard or pen to paper and writing. Here’s to kicking fear of failure, fear of the junk that rises to the surface during the first, second, fiftieth drafts and getting it out. Here’s to doing the work. Here’s to writing.

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How #Junowrimo reminds me that I am NOT writing

  1. Eden says:

    Yeah… only one there that can be done while write as far as I can see. Though the others are fun sometimes. For me, the killers are video games. :-/

  2. I hear you! It is so easy to get derailed from what we SHOULD be doing. I’ve been dragging my feet on developing some new characters. Even took a nap today, and I NEVER do that. Talk about procrastinating. Well, you’ve convinced me. Back to work! 🙂

  3. Amen! This is one reason I don’t pay that much attention to the “this is the month or day … you should write so many words or sentences. I tend to write in spurts when it comes to stories and poetry, and I never know when the muse will strike. My fear is missing the whisper. I tend to record a lot of ideas on my iphone, so as not to forget the great ideas.

  4. Tonya says:

    Yep! My husband (I still gasp at this!) just yesterday called me out on this. Since I began my part-time job at the library a few months ago, attention to my rewrite has died down a bit. I’m always with my nose in somebody else’s books – almost like college, pre-marriage and pre-kids. (So much, I’m also in charge of the book club there!). Not a bad problem at all – to me I’m in heaven – but at the expense of my own work, I’ve cut myself short. I’m grateful that he pointed it out and your post is also spot on. As Laura said, Back to work!

Leave a Reply

