What’s with this inner Hallmark Channel voice in my writing?!

What happened to Faulkner??

What happened to Faulkner??

photo credit: zen via photopin cc
 
 

I’ve lost Faulkner and gained a Lifetime movie…

Ugh. I don’t know what has happened to me, but I’m not pleased.

Has my muse changed shape? If so, no offense, but I’d like to go back to the one I had before.

Lately (like for the past year) when I set down to write, one of two things happens:

1) I get so far in the story, and then I decide it isn’t worth pursuing – I lose interest in it.

OR

2) The inner voice in my head that narrates the stories (sounds crazy, I know. Don’t judge!) sounds like some sappy, weird combination of a Hallmark Channel special and a Lifetime movie. Now, to add to the weirdness – I don’t watch either one of those. I don’t read books that have a “lifetime/hallmark” feel to them. Nothing wrong with those – but they’re just not my cup of tea.

So, here I sit, arguing with my muse — not productive, by the way, in case you were wondering.

Not “winning” at JuNoWriMo. Not making progress on any sort of new draft.

Just sitting here … wishing the Hallmark/Lifetime special would end and Faulkner and Flannery would return with a soundtrack of Waylon Jennings. Seriously – Faulkner, where are you?

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s with this inner Hallmark Channel voice in my writing?!

  1. Kill off all your characters and you’ll feel better. (Even if you don’t share their deaths with the world, maybe your voice will be reborn when you start writing their “post-death” scenes, having concluded their melodrama.) I have this problem all the time though. I want to write Steinbeck and instead end up with what I consider really terrible “French movies” where nothing happens.

  2. Reblogged this on Anakalian Whims and commented:
    I feel your pain, every day…

  3. Roger says:

    Give them something out of character to do. Even f you don’t keep it, the change will get your juices flowing again. Give your muse some money and tell her to go and buy a toffee apple.

Leave a Reply

