I signed up to do what?! — my upcoming adventures in the Race for the Cure

I blame my daughter

I am crawling walking/running a 5K this weekend.

I haven’t seen “physically fit” in about 10 years.

My oldest offspring said “let’s do this together.”

That is a lie.

But, it’s an acceptable lie because she will be about a mile ahead of me on the course.

And, that’s okay.

She is racing competitively. I am looking to complete the course.

It is for a wonderful cause. We are building memories together.

Our family has had three people die of cancer. I know I will be thinking of them as I go through the course. I love them. I miss them. I hope some day soon we will be able to think of cancer as a thing of the past. What a blessing that will be when that day comes!

Wish us luck!

Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I signed up to do what?! — my upcoming adventures in the Race for the Cure

  1. Roger says:

    Good luck.You can do anything if you really want it. Make sure you have plenty of pasta the day before.

  2. You can do this! Just keep thinking about your family with every step! Good luck.

  3. afracooking says:

    Wishing you tons and tons of luck!

Leave a Reply

