I couldn’t be more surprised if I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet…

If your holidays look more like National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation or The Family Stone than White Christmas or any one of the Hallmark channel or Lifetime network Christmas movies, welcome to my world.

My entire house looks like Christmas has vomited all over it.

We have a nine foot Christmas tree and a base that is too small, so our tree fell over twice after we had completely decorated it, lights, ornaments, tinsel and all. New base? Not yet, tree is leaning against the wall. Feeling the awesomeness yet?

We are still in the process of remodeling our house, so I’ve just hung the stockings next to the fireplace that is missing a mantle.

The Christmas parade was rescheduled due to rain and pushed back to the same day we were hosting the youth Christmas “Santa Attacks” and pizza party. Decorate a float, ride in the parade, shuttle a van full of teenagers to the local nursing homes and the homes of the people in our church who can’t get out and about and deliver packages, back to the church for pizza and a movie all in one day? Absolutely.

Ornaments full of paint and covered in glue spread all over our dining room table? Yes.

But, I have a house full of kids who are happy, content and healthy.

I have an incredible husband who puts up with me hauling Christmas lights all over the front yard and adding “just one more” snow man to the collection.

I am one of those people who listens to Christmas music throughout December because it only comes once a year. I also make my family load up in our car and ride around the same neighborhoods repeatedly so we (and here I mean “I”) can look at the Christmas lights and decorations.

So, from my house to yours, I hope all of you are happy and healthy.

If you are reading this, I count you as one of my blessings.

Now, off to untangle the next string of lights I am soon to staple to the front porch.

Merry Christmas!

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I couldn’t be more surprised if I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet…

  1. afracooking says:

    hihi – you made me giggle! Hope you surive the fight with the chritmas lights!

Leave a Reply

