Fragments, Run-ons, and the Death of a Plant

In memory of Ms. Dawn Casey Bradshaw who passed away in December of 2015. My constant reader, my favorite teacher, my dear friend – you will be missed.

melindamcguirewrites

I have had many teachers throughout my life. Some have been good teachers, and some have been not so good. Out of all the teachers I have ever had, I have only had ONE excellent teacher. What I learned from her about writing and grammar and punctuation has carried me through decades of writing, grading, revising, editing and reading.
However, when she first started teaching our class, it was ugly – a battle of wills. My class had been told over and over again throughout the years that we were smart. We weren’t. Instead, we had a pretty well-developed vocabulary. Our teacher decided that it was her duty to actually TEACH us, rather than just pass us on along. She started from ground zero with us and worked her way up.
In her class, we got to meet the Grammar Unit. I imagine that this is like an intellectual boot…

View original post 560 more words

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

