National Poetry Month – How are you celebrating?

It seems like there are days and weeks and months celebrating everything.
Just FYI – National Poetry Month also shares its time with “Brussel Sprouts and Cabbage” Month and Car Care Month.

National Poetry Month? I much prefer to celebrate that instead of Brussel Sprouts and Cabbage.

A few of my favorites:

Mending Wall by Robert Frost

Wild nights – Wild nights! by Emily Dickinson

We Real Cool – by Gwendolyn Brooks

Theme for English B by Langston Hughes and Harlem by Hughes

Song of Myself by Walt Whitman

And, I am delighted to share that poet John Davis Jr. will be my guest next week on Southern Creatives.

Who is your favorite poet or what is your favorite poem?

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to National Poetry Month – How are you celebrating?

  1. Roger says:

    My all time favourite sonnet is “Shall I compare thee…” by Shakespeare.
    And don’t diss cabbage and sprouts. Love them; especially with brown sauce and ketchup, yum.

    • Melinda says:

      Roger,
      Shakespeare – yea!
      Cabbage and sprouts and brown sauce and ketchup – boo! The only way I like cabbage is fried with bacon. And, I never like sprouts. (Sorry, sprouts, nothing personal)

  2. How about I read some poetry WHILE eating Brussels Sprouts? Possibly as I’m going through a car wash… That way all the bases are covered.

    Seriously, though, thanks so much for all the great links. I’m going to read through them all in honor of Poetry Month!

  3. Pingback: Southern Creatives Interview – Poet, John Davis, Jr. @poetjohndavisjr | melindamcguirewrites

  4. afracooking says:

    I really enjoyed re-reading these poems! Thank you for bringing them to me today 🙂

Leave a comment