Trying to Reform – A Former Pantster – NaNoWriMo

The countdown clock on NaNoWriMo.org is still ticking away. Nov. 1 is getting closer by the second.

October is winding down, and I am about mid-way through my mountain of planning worksheets – character arcs and biographies, outlining, scene setting – all of this writing to actually get to the WRITING. This is such a strange approach for me.

I am a Pantster. No shame in admitting it. I am a fly by the seat of my pants writer = a pantster.

I’m reading through StoryFix.com tip #26 – The Pantster’s Solution to Story Planning – and I’m feeling a lot of self-recognition.

But, I’m seeking to reform, at least for now.

Here’s how I usually work – an idea comes to me, usually two unrelated things pop into my head and make a connection – that part has not changed.

Then, in my pantster days, I would sit down and start writing, no planning, just writing, and I would write my way through the story, write it all out, just write, write, write.

Now, that is certainly creative, I feel at one with my muse when I use that approach, but have I mentioned that there’s only 30 days in November and that I would like to have a completed manuscript of at least 50k words by midnight on Nov. 30?

So, while the pantster approach is certainly comfortable for me, I don’t think it would give me the best shot at succeeding. Hence, the change.

Now, depending on how my experience as a NaNoWriMo Newbie goes, I may be a reformed panster forever.

Or, I may only break out the worksheets for the next NaNoWriMo…

A little NaNoWriMo humor for your day 🙂

About melindamcguirewrites

The young man or woman writing today has forgotten the problems of the human heart in conflict with itself which alone can make good writing because only that is worth writing about, worth the agony and the sweat. ------ William Faulkner, Nobel Prize Speech, Stockholm, 1950
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying to Reform – A Former Pantster – NaNoWriMo

  1. DM says:

    Yep, I’m a pantster too. I’ll see how this goes for you.

  2. Pingback: Cue the Europe song… The Final Countdown | melindamcguirewrites

Leave a comment